Post magic confustion

Ask questions regarding Gentoox, Gentoo and Linux in general in these forums and we'll do our best to help you!
Post Reply
foolip
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2004 3:34 am

Post magic confustion

Post by foolip » Thu Aug 05, 2004 3:13 pm

Hi yesterday i had a untouched Home 3.0 install (via FTP)

then i ran magic and ran a lengthy forced update, that provided me with HDTV support, which is great.

Today i ran magic and updated XFce to 4.0 and then restarted.

well, it still works but I've lost all the programs on the bottom panel, eg Mozilla Firfox/Thunderbird etc.


VNC is still working, and FTP server is too, so I'm guessing I still have all my programs installed. Is this true. Which directory are they put into in a default Home 3.0 install? i've found some reference to them in /usr/bin

MadeWade
Linux User
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 10:00 am

Post by MadeWade » Fri Aug 06, 2004 1:41 am

my menu has also disappeared
mine disappeared after i plugged in a USB keyboard for the first time
first Gentoox wouldn't boot past the screen that gives u the option to boot from HDD or DVD-D... my controller just kept vibrating
so, i shut it down and rebooted
when i booted back up, gentoox loaded fine and everything, but my xfce menu has disappeared...
i can FTP in and run SSH...
how do i get my my menu bar back?
i was thinking of running sparkle, but i don't want to flash my modchip... which is my understanding of running sparkle... u have to get the loader first and then flash ur chip or TSOP and then run sparkle?!?
that's terrible

MadeWade
Linux User
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 10:00 am

Post by MadeWade » Fri Aug 06, 2004 2:46 am

UPDATE:

found out that the keyboard issue i had worked by following a FAQ
now, gentoox loads beatifully with my keyboard plugged in
but still no little task bar at the bottom...
there must be an SSH command to get it back..?
i'd run sparkle but i really don't want to flash my bios again..

MadeWade
Linux User
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 10:00 am

Post by MadeWade » Fri Aug 06, 2004 4:34 am

ANOTHER UPDATE:

did a bit of digging and found this thread viewtopic.php?t=960&highlight=missing+tool+bar
seemed simple enough
typed it in, it runs magic, u hit enter and it reloads magic with the option of getting xfce4, so i said yes
i let it run and finish
it rebooted my system, i loaded everything back up and still no tool bar... :shock:
hopefully someone else has a solution... cuz that one was from the man himself
i'll try again

shedt
Adept
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 7:20 pm

Post by shedt » Fri Aug 06, 2004 4:37 am

i had the same problem, but running

magic fix xfce && magic

fixed the problem

make sure you type in the terminal
su
to login as root, default password is xbox

personally, i've installed everything, and made a folder on my f: partition where i copied all of my working gentoox files.

i have a 160 gig drive though.

it takes less then 10 min to transfer the files back over to e: if something big screws up.

my only problem is that i cannot install too f:
....

MadeWade
Linux User
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2004 10:00 am

Post by MadeWade » Fri Aug 06, 2004 5:21 am

lol, now i'm just spamming
but the link that i posted works...
i dunno what happened
but i did it the first time, rebooted, didn't work
tried again and it worked
bah

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests