What do you want in Home v3.0?

Request new features that might make using Gentoox better.
User avatar
Sniper Fox
Adept
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2003 9:11 pm
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Contact:

Post by Sniper Fox » Thu Oct 23, 2003 7:56 pm

garretwp: Try unplugging all of your usb devices except for 1 xpad, this will generally let me get past that screen. Once linux has fully loaded, just plug your keyboard / mouse / whatever in then.

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Thu Oct 23, 2003 8:09 pm

No, this is an essential part of the boot sequence, use a different bios or set your clock properly.

User avatar
nobspangle
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 1681
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2003 11:59 am
Location: Manchester, UK

Post by nobspangle » Thu Oct 23, 2003 10:23 pm

If you're going to include thunderbird, can we have an English, English dictionary (UK) I got mine from here http://www.pyxidium.co.uk/dictionary/mozilla.html

and maybe a few european languages thrown in for good measure
If you keep an open mind, will your brain fall out?

User avatar
Trogdor
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 553
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2003 9:57 pm
Location: MOUNT TAPE U1439 ON B3, NO RING

Re: My requests.

Post by Trogdor » Thu Oct 23, 2003 11:07 pm

Sniper Fox wrote:Firebird is decent, but I can't imagine why you wouldn't use konq.
Firebird leaves a smaller memory footprint than konq. Speed is essential!
MOUNT TAPE U1439 ON B3, NO RING

Q: HOW DO I RUN MAGIC ??
A: You run magic by not typing in capital letters.

bikr
Novice
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 5:11 pm
Contact:

Post by bikr » Fri Oct 24, 2003 12:05 am

Shallax.. is BitchX out of the question for install since most home users will opt for xchat?? --Bikr

p.s. i only ask because the ebuild sucks , and to get it working manually requires a soft link to libncurses.so.5 named libncurses.so.4

masterslave
Linux User
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2003 4:17 am

Post by masterslave » Fri Oct 24, 2003 12:22 am

fuz wrote:sorry to interrupt this lovely list but masterslave are you in billy gates' pocket first you want live now you want .NET hows about you request that the X be windows too :P and wine boots default at startup

why dont you mount /mnt/billgateswiener/ while you are at it :P and maybe a shareholder or two for good measure

I know hows about shallax impliments a "man themscetextbooks" so you can brush up in time for that promotion

sheeeesh

(i apologise in advance for all the flaming i am about to recieve, but quite frankly i think that the day that windows is opensource so we the linux community can fix it the better)
you really don't know what you're talking about do you? so i'm in bill gates' pocket right? well i guess he's sponsoring the whole mono project now, too! get a life :lol:

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Fri Oct 24, 2003 8:15 am

Id bet he is sponsoring mono... if .net gets popular he gets .rich :\... Im not including bitchx, because it sucks. IRSSI is included.

cyrilpino
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2003 1:11 pm

Post by cyrilpino » Fri Oct 24, 2003 8:54 am

I hope the next window manager (icewm) will have font adapted for TV screen by default...(at least 16 pixel everywhere)...

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Fri Oct 24, 2003 1:53 pm

Who said anything about icewm?

bikr
Novice
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 5:11 pm
Contact:

Post by bikr » Fri Oct 24, 2003 6:06 pm

BitchX doesn't suck.. =( --Bikr

User avatar
Trogdor
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 553
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2003 9:57 pm
Location: MOUNT TAPE U1439 ON B3, NO RING

Post by Trogdor » Fri Oct 24, 2003 10:13 pm

I wouldn't talk, bikr, until you FIX YOUR F*CKING WINEX SCRIPT! I WANT TO PLAY QUAKE ON MY TV NOW!
MOUNT TAPE U1439 ON B3, NO RING

Q: HOW DO I RUN MAGIC ??
A: You run magic by not typing in capital letters.

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Fri Oct 24, 2003 10:14 pm

Then why dont you just install a linux version of quake...?

User avatar
nobspangle
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 1681
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2003 11:59 am
Location: Manchester, UK

Post by nobspangle » Fri Oct 24, 2003 10:41 pm

good point there are loads of versions available in portage check http://www.gentoo.org/dyn/pkgs/games-fps/ for details

by the way why is your server clock 1 hour slow
If you keep an open mind, will your brain fall out?

User avatar
Trogdor
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 553
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2003 9:57 pm
Location: MOUNT TAPE U1439 ON B3, NO RING

Post by Trogdor » Sat Oct 25, 2003 1:01 am

ShALLaX wrote:Then why dont you just install a linux version of quake...?
I know your trick. Don't try to logic me out of this, I'm on a roll!
MOUNT TAPE U1439 ON B3, NO RING

Q: HOW DO I RUN MAGIC ??
A: You run magic by not typing in capital letters.

JusKickNit
Novice
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2003 2:41 am

Post by JusKickNit » Sat Oct 25, 2003 3:01 am

Shallax,

I've not tried it on the Xbox yet, but what about prelinking. It did a major speed improvement on my slow a$$ pc.

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests