Precompiled apache w/ PHP

Request new features that might make using Gentoox better.
Post Reply
t0ny
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2003 4:15 am

Precompiled apache w/ PHP

Post by t0ny » Sat Sep 27, 2003 4:23 am

Hey shallax you should have php precompiled so its not a big thing to use it, Thanks
Image
"A man with a car gets around town, but a man with a plane gets around many towns" -John .P

Fly8 rulez

madskillz09022
Linux User
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Oct 04, 2003 8:17 pm

Post by madskillz09022 » Tue Oct 07, 2003 3:20 am

i second that, that would be kool. or add a thing to magic that would download and install apache with php. i was gunna write a script to do that and post it on here, but i dont program in linux. i could get it to do sum things, but i couldnt figure out anything but echo. so i think ill leave the programming up to the pros...

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Tue Oct 07, 2003 4:30 pm

Not gonna happen. If you want a webserver, you build a webserver. Not everyone is going to want apache. If you DO want apache, you should be using the pro edition.. in which case you should be a pro.. meaning you should be good enough to install apache.

Bucko
Power user
Posts: 229
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 4:14 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by Bucko » Tue Jun 01, 2004 4:50 pm

Not gonna happen. If you want a webserver, you build a webserver. Not everyone is going to want apache. If you DO want apache, you should be using the pro edition.. in which case you should be a pro.. meaning you should be good enough to install apache.


HAHAHAHA, so true :)

Arion
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2004 7:02 pm

Post by Arion » Sun Nov 14, 2004 12:01 am

ShALLaX wrote:Not gonna happen. If you want a webserver, you build a webserver. Not everyone is going to want apache. If you DO want apache, you should be using the pro edition.. in which case you should be a pro.. meaning you should be good enough to install apache.


Shouldn't the same apply to mysql, yacc, and perlcc? Heck I even saw nasm there(in the home edition).

I agree that apache shouldn't be in the home version, but neither should mysql.

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Sun Nov 14, 2004 1:26 am

Errr... why shouldnt mysql be in there? Its not just "servers" that use mysql... user programmes can use it. If its there, its because it was a required dependency for something else in there. MySQL is always handy to have.
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

orochi
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 606
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 8:11 am

Post by orochi » Tue May 10, 2005 4:51 am

besides, since when is gentoo "pre compiled" anyways :)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest