Kernel Update nuked video mode on Progressive scan tv??

Post information here about bugs - please remember to provide an accurate and detailed description and, if possible, steps on how to replicate the issue.
Locked
tedwinters
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2003 3:30 am

Kernel Update nuked video mode on Progressive scan tv??

Post by tedwinters » Tue Oct 28, 2003 2:35 am

Did the kernel update, everything was working fine before it on the home version..
After it updated, the display was garbled...
ssh'ing into it and running xbvset does nothing.. Neither does a bunch of default settings in xbv...
Additionally, the loading splash screen has always been garbled in 480p mode...

User avatar
fuz
Power user
Posts: 228
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 6:03 am
Location: sunshine coast, Australia
Contact:

Post by fuz » Tue Oct 28, 2003 9:14 pm

hit your tv... are you sure its not that? because if you have tried all resolutions and nothing changes then maybe either

(a) you are running in ntsc or pal when you want the other
(b) your tv is fecked and it was a coincidence that it was between kernels

(most likely a hehe)

let me know
127.0.0.1, wherever you go.. there you are!

tedwinters
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2003 3:30 am

Post by tedwinters » Tue Oct 28, 2003 10:14 pm

Hahah.. First thing I did was hit the tv!!!!
Eitherway, nah.. it's not the tv.. The xbox works fine for everything else (xbmp, games, etc..)
nothing there had changed...
And, the window manager DOES start fine.. the virtual keyboard is unscrambled for approx 30 seconds.. then the video mode kicks in, and it's scrambled again... (looks to me like it's kicking back into interlace mode...(480i, when the tv only supports 480p)

I haven't tried EVERY video mode.. just the ones I could find.. I did try every xbvset mode, with no luck... and a few manually specified options in xbv (from what I could find..)

User avatar
fuz
Power user
Posts: 228
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 6:03 am
Location: sunshine coast, Australia
Contact:

Post by fuz » Tue Oct 28, 2003 10:21 pm

i dont know what the default window res is on your box but it will be in your X conf file ... you need to find a way to stop it from resetting it mid boot...
127.0.0.1, wherever you go.. there you are!

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Thu Dec 11, 2003 1:54 pm

edit /etc/conf.d/local.start and remove the xbvinit line
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest