Bug running magic

Post information here about bugs - please remember to provide an accurate and detailed description and, if possible, steps on how to replicate the issue.
elreyfedo@yahoo.es
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 7:49 pm

Bug running magic

Post by elreyfedo@yahoo.es » Thu Feb 23, 2006 11:21 pm

Hi.

I just try the ftp install of gentoox, everything went right untill i run magic after the 88% stoped and the bug is :
-----------------START TEXT FROM BUG-------------------------------------
Number of files: 137756
Number of files transferred: 9
Total file size: 116534596 bytes
Total transferred file size: 18318 bytes
Literal data: 18318 bytes
Matched data: 0 bytes
File list size: 3050718
Total bytes written: 361
Total bytes read: 3069870

wrote 361 bytes read 3069870 bytes 7049.90 bytes/sec
total size is 116534596 speedup is 37.96

>>> Updating Portage cache: 88%!!! Cannot resolve a virtual package name to an ebuild.
!!! This is a bug, please report it. (virtual/libintl-0)

Exiting on signal 2

!! Sync failed.
!! Check your network settings and try again.

Magic encountered the above error(s), please try again later.
--------------------END TEXT FROM BUG-----------------------------------------

so, anyone have any ideas?

Thank you in advance.

vplayer
1337
Posts: 442
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 11:06 pm
Location: USA

Post by vplayer » Fri Feb 24, 2006 12:16 am

search the forums for portage.
Box: XBOX ver 1.1
Mod: Xecutor 2.3 lite+
Hdd: WD 80GB
Dash: Evox, Ava, XBMC
Linux: Gentoox Pro 4.2

orochi
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 606
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 8:11 am

Post by orochi » Fri Feb 24, 2006 12:45 am

aye, this is an issue with portage, perhaps try

Code: Select all

emerge --sync && magic

its an issue with the package virtual/libintl-0


although for that package version 0 is the only one found

http://packages.gentoo.org/search/?sstring=libintl

elreyfedo@yahoo.es
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 7:49 pm

Post by elreyfedo@yahoo.es » Sun Feb 26, 2006 5:00 pm

I look for portage in the forums and I found some things like this:

unlink /etc/make.profile
ln -s /usr/portage/profiles/default-linux/x86/2005.0/ /etc/make.profile

i try with all the versions 2005.1, 2005.0 and 2006.0 , none of tem works.

I try:

emerge --sync && magic , i got the same error.

I forward the port 2000,but magic is still telling me to Check my network settings.

Anyone can help me?
Xbox 1.6 / xecuter 2.6
Bios: Executer
Dashboard: Evox
Gentoox Home

KintaroOe
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 6:48 am

Post by KintaroOe » Sat Mar 04, 2006 5:53 pm

i received the same problem also with no success... just wondering if there was any updates so far. running Pro 2.0a on a v1.4 box

orochi
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 606
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 8:11 am

Post by orochi » Sat Mar 04, 2006 11:07 pm

try installing a portage snapshot



reference: http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/h ... ng_portage
http://www.gtlib.gatech.edu/pub/gentoo/ ... st.tar.bz2
note, examples shown are from a chroot environment
so backup your /usr/portage directory

extract the portage-*.tar.bz2 to / (i think) to get a snapshot from the web


my filesystem got screwed somehow the past few weeks and i had been delaying reintsalling, but in light of this ill give it a try and see if i run across any problems with Pro 2.0a and magic/emerge --sync

orochi
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 606
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 8:11 am

Post by orochi » Tue Mar 07, 2006 12:59 am

this problem is supposedly fixed

see:
http://www.gentoo.org/news/en/gwn/20060 ... letter.xml

ColSonders
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by ColSonders » Fri Mar 17, 2006 11:54 am

This is the same problem as I am having, I'm following the guide to do a fully native install and when it comes to running the magic command it gets to 88% then fails with the error message listed in the posts at the top of this topic.

I shouldn't have any network seurity getting in the way as i've got my xbox in my DMZ for the meantime, i've also tried to download the latest portage snapshot and extract that into the correct folder, this has made no difference, it still fails at 88%.

What else can I try?

orochi
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 606
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 8:11 am

Post by orochi » Fri Mar 17, 2006 8:04 pm

did you run out of free space?

you could download a portage snapshot from one of the mirrors


you could try websync instead of emerge to update portage

User avatar
m1d_kn1ght
Linux User
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2006 9:48 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Contact:

I got it too

Post by m1d_kn1ght » Sat Mar 18, 2006 9:52 am

Hey guys.

N00b here, but I got it too.

Just says to report it, so I did.. :-)

>>> Updating Portage cache: 88%!!! Cannot resolve a virtual package name to an ebuild.
!!! This is a bug, please report it. (virtual/libintl-0)

!! Sync failed.
!! Check your network settings and try again.

!! Note the error(s) above then press enter to continue. Submit the full
!! error when posting a bug report OR I WILL IGNORE YOU


Im not sure how to rectify it, but Ive had no problems in the past running magic.

This is the first problem Ive had.

MK

PS. Mine is not a native install and still have over 1gb free space

orochi
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 606
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 8:11 am

Post by orochi » Sun Mar 19, 2006 8:13 am


elreyfedo@yahoo.es
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 7:49 pm

I´ve got it working

Post by elreyfedo@yahoo.es » Wed Mar 22, 2006 9:28 pm

It is a problem about the portage that is out of date.


I emerge portage:

Code: Select all

emerge portage
Do not update portage runing emerge -u portage or emerge --update portage

After emerge portage maybe you will get a message telling you that you got some config files out of date, to update this file follow the instruction.
the instructions tell you to run a command for help.
Maybe you will have to do a different thing but i did the following:

I modified the file /etc/make.conf
adding this line

Code: Select all

 
CONFIG_PROTECT="-*"
and after this I run 'emerge portage' again. This update this config files, after this i comment the line , adding a # .This is to get this file protected again.

Code: Select all

#CONFIG_PROTECT="-*"
After this I do not get any error.

I explain this for newbies because I am one.
I hope this work for you.
Xbox 1.6 / xecuter 2.6
Bios: Executer
Dashboard: Evox
Gentoox Home

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Thu Mar 23, 2006 12:56 pm

You should not change the CONFIG_PROTECT variable, instead use etc-update.
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

ColSonders
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 2:25 pm

Post by ColSonders » Mon Mar 27, 2006 2:07 pm

Can anyone that was having this problem confirm whether it is fixed yet or not?

I am about to install a larger primary drive into my xbox and would prefer to move over to a Native Gentoox install rather than my current Xebian and would rather not waste several hours finding out it still isn't going to have it.

orochi
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 606
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 8:11 am

Re: Bug running magic

Post by orochi » Tue Mar 28, 2006 9:31 am

elreyfedo@yahoo.es wrote:Hi.

I just try the ftp install of gentoox, everything went right untill i run magic after the 88% stoped and the bug is :
-----------------START TEXT FROM BUG-------------------------------------
Number of files: 137756
Number of files transferred: 9
Total file size: 116534596 bytes
Total transferred file size: 18318 bytes
Literal data: 18318 bytes
Matched data: 0 bytes
File list size: 3050718
Total bytes written: 361
Total bytes read: 3069870

wrote 361 bytes read 3069870 bytes 7049.90 bytes/sec
total size is 116534596 speedup is 37.96

>>> Updating Portage cache: 88%!!! Cannot resolve a virtual package name to an ebuild.
!!! This is a bug, please report it. (virtual/libintl-0)

Exiting on signal 2

!! Sync failed.
!! Check your network settings and try again.

Magic encountered the above error(s), please try again later.
--------------------END TEXT FROM BUG-----------------------------------------

so, anyone have any ideas?

Thank you in advance.

this is an issue with needing to update portage, not magic

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest