Gentoox Bios video bug

Post information here about bugs - please remember to provide an accurate and detailed description and, if possible, steps on how to replicate the issue.
Locked
Cthulhu32
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 9:44 pm
Location: Redmond
Contact:

Gentoox Bios video bug

Post by Cthulhu32 » Thu Jun 09, 2005 9:51 pm

Well recently someone brought their softmodded box to me w/ an eeprom that had been changed by XMPC to use NTSC-J, so I hardmodded it in order to restore it, but I have had absolutely no luck. I'm pretty sure I'm getting a microsoft error and I can't see it.

So anyways, I install GentooX bios on this thing hoping to restore the video and run linux on the box, and when I go to Settings: Video Settings, the video setting says "Unknown" So I see this, try to press X to change the video setting to something known like NTSC-USA, but I get absolutely no response from this menu.

I know this works for switching because I can switch between video settings on my other box, but this box it just stays at Unknown, the bios won't switch it. My thoughts are that Shallax coded it so if its anything but the 3 settings it goes out of the switching while loop (not sure if that's how you did it) and if you get an unknown, it's already out of the while loop.

Is there any way to fix this myself or will I have to wait for Shallax to fix the bug so I can change the video setting from Unknown to NTSC-USA?

-thanks

edit: oh yeah, the xbox is a 1.0 w/ a conexant video chip and an xecuter 2.6 ce chip installed

vplayer
1337
Posts: 442
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 11:06 pm
Location: USA

Post by vplayer » Thu Jun 09, 2005 11:07 pm

can you ssh into it and run xbvset ??
Box: XBOX ver 1.1
Mod: Xecutor 2.3 lite+
Hdd: WD 80GB
Dash: Evox, Ava, XBMC
Linux: Gentoox Pro 4.2

Cthulhu32
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 9:44 pm
Location: Redmond
Contact:

Post by Cthulhu32 » Fri Jun 10, 2005 12:50 am

hey man, well it runs GentooX using xfce or kde just fine, because they force it to display NTSC, but the problem is I can't find a program in GentooX to physically change the EEPROM, they all just change the settings on the GentooX install, so I can run linux on it, but because the eeprom's video settings are somehow "Unknown" running anything BUT GentooX results in a black screen.

orochi
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 606
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 8:11 am

Post by orochi » Fri Jun 10, 2005 6:56 am

If Gentoox does anything it changes the software video mode, not the EEPROM code, if you want something like that, check out x-s.com

Cthulhu32
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 9:44 pm
Location: Redmond
Contact:

Post by Cthulhu32 » Fri Jun 10, 2005 8:34 pm

well see this is the problem, the only thing I can see running on this thing in linux, whenever I try running config magic w/ the necessary bios it doesn't load correctly so either microsoft is giving me an error code I can't see, or the xbox is confused. I was hoping I could fix the eeprom from the bios, since the GentooX Bios loader actually reads from the eeprom and changes it in the Settings menu, its just it won't change from "Unknown" to NTSC-M :(

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Sun Jun 12, 2005 12:07 am

1) No discussing illegal software.
2) This seems to have been a design oversight (I didn't code this part).
3) Expect Gentoox Loader v5.10 in a few seconds.
4) I expect feedback on whether this worked!
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

Cthulhu32
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 9:44 pm
Location: Redmond
Contact:

Post by Cthulhu32 » Sun Jun 12, 2005 12:28 am

Hey shallax,
yeah sorry, I was trying to stray the discussion away from anything illegal, just wanted to discuss gentoox, and thanks for the bios fix, I'll test this when I get back to my place. I gain more and more respect for your work, maybe when I get into OS coding next year I'll have some input for the project besides bug fixes :)
-thanks again

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Sun Jun 12, 2005 2:23 am

No problem... I needed a little motivation to make some changes to Gentoox Loader... this was the kick I needed!

I'm going to release 5.11 in a minute which will have some cosmetic fixes.
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

Cthulhu32
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 9:44 pm
Location: Redmond
Contact:

Post by Cthulhu32 » Sun Jun 12, 2005 7:22 am

sweet man, it worked excellent! Got this guy's xbox back up and running, and after I switched over the eeprom the gentoox bios went from looking like pal to looking normal again! So Shallax, most excellent work, you're a life saver man! Plus this bios can help other people w/ the problem I had if anyone screws up their eeproms :)
- Keep up the good work!

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Sun Jun 12, 2005 4:52 pm

Excellent! Thanks for testing :)
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest