Problem After running MAGIC

Talk about anything related to Gentoox or Gentoo.
RalphUp
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 8:18 am

Problem After running MAGIC

Post by RalphUp » Tue Jan 13, 2004 8:24 am

Ive run magic on my Home 3.0 install
Got the log-in. Ive a keyboard so I logged in as ROOT

everything seems ok, but my toolbars not setup corectly and if I click on the MOZILLLA icon it tells me there is no application.

Before I ran Magic all the ICONs where there and ran, any help would be great!

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Tue Jan 13, 2004 4:53 pm

Hmmmm! Hangon a sec and ill test this out myself (I have to reinstall home and run magic myself!)
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

RalphUp
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 8:18 am

Post by RalphUp » Wed Jan 14, 2004 9:04 am

Thanks ShALLaX,

Everything seems OK, but when running XFCE the Mozzilla Icon just doesnt work(as stated) and some of the toolbar icons are gone i.e. the SHUTDOWN icon,

when swaping over to KDE everything again runs fine but there is still no MOZZILLA icon.

Hope this helps a little.

RalphUp

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Wed Jan 14, 2004 1:46 pm

Well, I just tried magic twice, and it all works fine for me :\ Maybe some files got corrupt whilst downloading *shrugs*. "magic fix displaytools1 && magic fix xfcepatch1 && magic" should sort you out ;)
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

CronkTheCaveman
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2004 4:18 pm

Post by CronkTheCaveman » Wed Jan 14, 2004 4:25 pm

Hmm, same thing happened to me as well. This was after a full update to XFCE via Magic.

Admitedly I did mess up the xbvset section of Magic (pressed Enter one too many times...Ooops) but re-ran xbvest that after a reboot via ssh.

I also tried running Mozilla from the command line, which also failed. I did an emerge -sync and then reinstalled Mozilla from there, seems OK now, although XFCE doesn't look as it did before magic.

I'll try the Magic fix and see what happens.

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Wed Jan 14, 2004 5:09 pm

very odd.
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

DarkManX4lf
Novice
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2004 5:15 pm
Location: New York

Post by DarkManX4lf » Thu Jan 15, 2004 3:20 am

the same thing happened to me, but i posted on the Q&A forum and someone j ust said to login as gentoox:xbox and now everythign works, but when i login as root nothing works i dunno why .

jungec
Novice
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2003 1:40 am
Contact:

Post by jungec » Thu Jan 15, 2004 4:54 am

I noticed this also.

the thing with me was i was auto logged in as gentoox user.

then after magic and rebooted I logged in as root.

That is why this weren't working as per usual.

X was configured for the gentoox user not the root user.

try logging on as gentoox and that should fix your issue.

RalphUp
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 8:18 am

Post by RalphUp » Thu Jan 15, 2004 8:32 am

erm
I tried the MAGIC update again, and my GENTOOX, now my rootfs is ZERO bytes, is this due to ShALLaX changing his HD I wonder... as for loggining in as root that sounds like it ... DOH. Ah well I like re-installs LOL

Cheers Guys!

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Thu Jan 15, 2004 12:18 pm

Nothing to do with that... 0 bytes sounds very very odd. Maybe you powered off without shutting down properly?
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

NEI
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 8:00 pm

Post by NEI » Thu Jan 15, 2004 1:14 pm

After magic my 4GB partition on f: is empty... Still there, but empty. Used this for p2p, thus not so important. :-)
Btw, should xbvset already have the hdtv stuff? Couldn't configure HDTV...

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Thu Jan 15, 2004 4:49 pm

It should, if you ran magic.
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

NEI
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 8:00 pm

Post by NEI » Fri Jan 16, 2004 8:13 am

It doesn't. Made a new fresh Home install. Ran magic without errors for about 4-5h. But xbvset doesn't have options for hdtv. Btw, i have no video output to my projector. Somehow it tries to synch to the video signal but then gets lost. Tried all options 640x480 -800x600 with PAL and NTSC.
V1.0 box.

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Fri Jan 16, 2004 1:44 pm

Ok, i figured out why, the displaytools patch installed the new xbvset, then the gdm patch installed the old one over it again :P "magic fix displaytools1 && magic". Ive fixed it now ;)
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

NEI
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 8:00 pm

Post by NEI » Fri Jan 16, 2004 10:31 pm

yup, it worked! writing this reply from my living room with my xbox on a sharp HDTV projector screen! :-)
Thnx a lot! its amazing to see linux on the box like this!
There is some overscan, but i really can live with that... :-)

Thanks again!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests