gentoox freezes with white and black strip on the screen

Talk about anything related to Gentoox or Gentoo.
Post Reply
linbox
Linux User
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2003 2:18 am

gentoox freezes with white and black strip on the screen

Post by linbox » Tue Nov 04, 2003 2:40 am

when I try yo install gentoox 3.0a it freezes and I have white and black strips on the screen and the console light alternate green, red and yellow.

I just upgraded my xbox to 128MB and I used evox M7 as a boot bios.
I could not get cromwell2.26 to work either.
I'm not sure if this does not have to do with the additional memory.
Is there a program available to check the memory. If yes where can I get a copy and what is it called?

thanks guenter

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Tue Nov 04, 2003 8:37 am

What xbox version?
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

linbox
Linux User
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2003 2:18 am

It is a xbox version 1.0

Post by linbox » Tue Nov 04, 2003 5:34 pm

Here is also a little more detail on the hardware.
I have an 8GB harddrive and a cheapmod for the bios.
One Issue I might have is space on the E-drive. I do ahve around 2.5GB free because I still have Ed's debian with 2GB installed.

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Tue Nov 04, 2003 6:40 pm

Black and white stripes tends to suggest its the ram. Are you sure the RAM is installed correctly?
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

pOiNTBLaNK
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2003 10:47 pm

Post by pOiNTBLaNK » Thu Nov 06, 2003 12:34 am

Quick ??

How did you upgrade the RAM on the XBOX?


Thanks,
pOiNTBLaNK

linbox
Linux User
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2003 2:18 am

how did I upgrade teh memory

Post by linbox » Thu Nov 06, 2003 3:48 am

I bought 4 memory chips (very hard to get by I looked for 3 month to finally find somebody how bought several hundred I was lucky to get the 2nd last set) and hand soldered them onto the motherboard.
There are multible posts about how to solder the surface mounting devices. It's quiet hard and you need a quiet hand.

What so ever back to my original post.
I'm past the black and white stripes on the screen and I found out what it was. I had Ed's debiab 0.41 installed and by default the cd tried to boot it. I thought the harddrive selection on the bottom of the screen was to select the installation target. Ooops my fault.

So the installation is running now and the rootfs is extracting right now.

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Thu Nov 06, 2003 9:09 am

Good good.
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

linbox
Linux User
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2003 2:18 am

Post by linbox » Mon Nov 10, 2003 2:05 am

Now everything is up and running. My ram shows up in gentoox and it really is a BIG performance boost. I would recommend soldering the additional RAM chips any time.

Now I have another question. What packages is gentoox based on? Can I install rpm packages. I would like to install Gimp and I just wanted to know what package I can download or if I have to compile it from scratch?

Thanks

Guenter

User avatar
nobspangle
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 1681
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2003 11:59 am
Location: Manchester, UK

Post by nobspangle » Mon Nov 10, 2003 8:34 am

as far as I know gimp is already installed on gentoox 3.0
If you keep an open mind, will your brain fall out?

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Mon Nov 10, 2003 11:28 am

If its not, just try "emerge -s gimp", then "emerge <result>"
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

User avatar
nobspangle
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 1681
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2003 11:59 am
Location: Manchester, UK

Post by nobspangle » Mon Nov 10, 2003 2:41 pm

On second thoughts I don't think it is installed you can get v.1.2.5 by doing emerge gimp if you want 1.3 you will have to do

Code: Select all

mkdir -p /etc/portage 
echo "media-gfx/gimp" >> /etc/portage/package.unmask 
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="~x86" emerge gimp
If you keep an open mind, will your brain fall out?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest