project eagle-x

Talk about anything related to Gentoox or Gentoo.
Post Reply
reagor
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2005 2:50 am

project eagle-x

Post by reagor » Mon Mar 06, 2006 2:39 am

so i started my mobile idea
hardware:
xbox v1.x softmod
gentoo home
trendnet wireless ap set in client mode
12v-110v converter


the plan:

mobile entertinment

i have the xbox in my car usually running as nothing more than a music vault with a random playlist

now ive added a wireless connection to the unit (configurable through a webgui)


right now im working out the bugs in the wireless connection
but the site survey option looks like it could be fun here

next will be an autosync with my music folder on my home network

then off to my frends house to jump on his lan from the driveway and send him an aim message :)

i have a usb1.1 video input interface comming

the a/p might get replaced with a dd-wrt linksys router so i can use my laptop as well...but thats later...need to stay focused

questions
5vDC internally in xbox? to tap the ap into and lose the wall wart?

any other ideas from the lot of ya xboxin fools?

thanks to the community and its search function

ill get pics up after install
WINDOWS stands for Will Install Needless Data On Whole System.

reagor
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2005 2:50 am

Post by reagor » Mon Mar 06, 2006 5:25 pm

ok so things are a lil fish but it all works
had to manually configure the ip and use a crossover cable to connect to xbox

i was able to bring up the static ip of the ap
site survey shows my wireless and my secure wireless zones
(2 independant networks in my house)

can get the ap to connect to any type of secured wireless networks
but thats usually a good thing

next test will be to connect to a vpn client from remote location (frends house)

i think most of my problems are in the whole static ip (if other wireless network uses 192.168.b.xxx and im configured for 192.168.a.xxx my carnet would be non functional correctly in frend lan

gentoox will not grab an ip via dhcp through the ap
ap firmware cannot be set to connect to a secure wireless network
never asks for a password...need a firmware upgrade goin searching now

http://www.trendware.com/asp/download_m ... &SUBMIT=Go

lol it says in the instructions to upload linux.bin
does this mean it can run other linux apps
is there any way to view and edit the .bin file for the a/p



most of my problems i can relate to the POS trendnet ap runnign as a client

something more along the lines of a router might be better


more to come on project eagle-x
WINDOWS stands for Will Install Needless Data On Whole System.

reagor
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2005 2:50 am

Post by reagor » Tue Mar 07, 2006 2:59 am

everything works good
can acces internet through everything but gentoox, should i change the default gateway to the ip of the ap?
dhcp will fwd through the ap bridge... but need static settings when network isnt within range

still waiting on video input stick (lazy frend)

question...is there a way to script to the accesspoint? ie through the web interface? its java based with a supposed linux backend

the web interface has java and nojava version

couldnt i make my own local webpage and link to the router webadmin (gui sux)

i wonder if anyone cares?
lol
-reagor
WINDOWS stands for Will Install Needless Data On Whole System.

reagor
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2005 2:50 am

Post by reagor » Tue Mar 07, 2006 5:02 am

update:

dhcp works when avail...how do i change the default ip (when no ip avail) from 192.168.1.13 to 192.168.0.13

nvm init.d/net.eth0

problem now seems to be site survey in the apclient

sh*t just realized i didne emerge sync and magic

oh btw for an easy auto on with powersupply just tape your power button down...
if (boxpluggedin)
turnonbox

bbl
-reagor
WINDOWS stands for Will Install Needless Data On Whole System.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests