autologin (in-car setup)

Talk about anything related to Gentoox or Gentoo.
Post Reply [phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
xdanx
Linux User
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2005 7:57 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

autologin (in-car setup)

Post by xdanx » Thu Jun 16, 2005 7:43 am

Can someone show me how to use autologin??I want to be able automacially login KDE as root without having to type username and password.

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Thu Jun 16, 2005 1:17 pm

pico /etc/conf.d/local.start

where it says "/usr/bin/gdm".. change it to just "startx".
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

xdanx
Linux User
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2005 7:57 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Post by xdanx » Mon Jun 20, 2005 5:33 am

ShALLaX wrote:pico /etc/conf.d/local.start

where it says "/usr/bin/gdm".. change it to just "startx".

There are 3 lines with "/usr/bin/gdm". I changed all of them to "startx" but it doesn't work.

if [ -f /usr/bin/gdm ]; then
echo -n "Starting X" && sleep 1 && echo -n "." && sleep 1 && echo -n "." && sleep 1 && echo -n "." && sleep 1 && echo -n "." && $
fi

/bin/led gggg
chmod 777 /dev/dsp
if [ -f /usr/bin/gdm ]; then
/usr/bin/gdm 1> /dev/null 2> /dev/null

orochi
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 606
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 8:11 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Post by orochi » Mon Jun 20, 2005 6:33 am

xdanx wrote:
ShALLaX wrote:pico /etc/conf.d/local.start

where it says "/usr/bin/gdm".. change it to just "startx".

There are 3 lines with "/usr/bin/gdm". I changed all of them to "startx" but it doesn't work.

if [ -f /usr/bin/gdm ]; then
echo -n "Starting X" && sleep 1 && echo -n "." && sleep 1 && echo -n "." && sleep 1 && echo -n "." && sleep 1 && echo -n "." && $
fi

/bin/led gggg
chmod 777 /dev/dsp
if [ -f /usr/bin/gdm ]; then
/usr/bin/gdm 1> /dev/null 2> /dev/null

just change the last bit,

if [ -f /usr/bin/gdm ]; then
/usr/bin/gdm 1> /dev/null 2> /dev/null

to

startx

xdanx
Linux User
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2005 7:57 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Post by xdanx » Mon Jun 20, 2005 7:36 am

orochi wrote:
xdanx wrote:
ShALLaX wrote:pico /etc/conf.d/local.start

where it says "/usr/bin/gdm".. change it to just "startx".

There are 3 lines with "/usr/bin/gdm". I changed all of them to "startx" but it doesn't work.

if [ -f /usr/bin/gdm ]; then
echo -n "Starting X" && sleep 1 && echo -n "." && sleep 1 && echo -n "." && sleep 1 && echo -n "." && sleep 1 && echo -n "." && $
fi

/bin/led gggg
chmod 777 /dev/dsp
if [ -f /usr/bin/gdm ]; then
/usr/bin/gdm 1> /dev/null 2> /dev/null

just change the last bit,

if [ -f /usr/bin/gdm ]; then
/usr/bin/gdm 1> /dev/null 2> /dev/null

to

startx
It doesn't work. It loads up with 3 bash terminals. I can't see the user interface.

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Mon Jun 20, 2005 11:09 am

It has worked - that has loaded X as root.

Next you need to edit /root/.xinitrc and put "startkde" or "startxfce4" in it.
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

xdanx
Linux User
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2005 7:57 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Post by xdanx » Mon Jun 20, 2005 9:36 pm

ShALLaX wrote:It has worked - that has loaded X as root.

Next you need to edit /root/.xinitrc and put "startkde" or "startxfce4" in it.
startxfce4 was already there as default
================================
File: /root/.xinitrc

/usr/bin/X11/xvkbd -geometry 792x130+0-74 &


startxfce4
================================

xdanx
Linux User
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2005 7:57 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Post by xdanx » Mon Jun 20, 2005 9:46 pm

I replaced

if [ -f /usr/bin/gdm ]; then
/usr/bin/gdm 1> /dev/null 2> /dev/null


with startxfce4 instead of startx and it works.. thanks alot guys..

xdanx
Linux User
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2005 7:57 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Post by xdanx » Tue Jun 21, 2005 2:17 am

One last questions =)....How do I autologin as normal user?

Post Reply
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests