[Newbie] Questions about installation...

Talk about anything related to Gentoox or Gentoo.
[D]J

[Newbie] Questions about installation...

Post by [D]J »

UPDATE: Sorry, i just noticed about the "NEWBIE FORUM" so posted the message there, please moderators delete this one, thank you!

Hi, I'm very new to this... I bought a premodded xbox last year and recently I've decided to give xbox Linux a try because everyone is saying great things about it! :) Well, I have many doubts and questions which need answers before starting with the installation (I don't wanna fudge things up... :) ):

1) From what I can understand to install Gentoox on my xbox I just need to burn the Stardust.iso on a CD and launch it (hmm... my Samsung DVD can read CDs or just DVDs?). Am I right?

2) Where do you guys suggest me to install Gentoox? I read that "native" installation (drive F:) is better because it has faster drive access but as downside it will destroy all data on the F: partition. Hmmm, since I never installed anything on my F: partition, are there any sistem files there by default which will get deleted? Am I safe installing it on F: or do you guys suggest me to install it on other drives? By the way, I still have the original HDD in my xbox console, didn't modify/upgrade anything yet (and don't plan to do anythime soon).

3) My premodded xbox has a switch on the left side of the console to turn on and off the modchip. When modchip is on my xbox starts with the EvolutionX dashboard (evoxdash.xbe), when off it starts with the original M$ dash (xboxdash.xbe). Now, will I be able to install Gentoox on a configuration like this? I'm asking this because I read in the installation manual:

"If you have a flashable TSOP or modchip, you can tell the installer to flash it with a modified Cromwell BIOS for Gentoox. This BIOS will make Gentoox autoboot each time the Xbox is turned on (after a 10 second delay or when you press the 'A' button on your Xpad)"