ssh not working?

Talk about anything related to Gentoox or Gentoo.
Post Reply
lowrida56
Linux User
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 6:40 am

ssh not working?

Post by lowrida56 » Sun Aug 08, 2004 1:18 pm

im trying to install gentoox but my screen is all flickery... but wen i try installing it using ssh i cant connect to it? it just times out? any1 know a differant way of installing it or how i can get ssh to work?

lowrida56
Linux User
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 6:40 am

Post by lowrida56 » Tue Aug 10, 2004 7:27 am

any1?

lotw
Pro
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 5:59 pm

Re: ssh not working?

Post by lotw » Tue Aug 10, 2004 4:54 pm

lowrida56 wrote:im trying to install gentoox but my screen is all flickery... but wen i try installing it using ssh i cant connect to it? it just times out? any1 know a differant way of installing it or how i can get ssh to work?


Do you know the correct IP of the Xbox?

lowrida56
Linux User
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 6:40 am

Post by lowrida56 » Thu Aug 12, 2004 8:43 am

it was 192.168.1.13 but then this guy on irc tryed telling me how to change its ip thrue ssh... i typed nano net and all this crap came up and i added it in there but now i cant connect to it

can i jus replace that file with the default 1? if so were is that file?

gasranas
Linux User
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 3:47 pm

Post by gasranas » Thu Aug 12, 2004 11:18 am

edit /etc/conf.d/net

Code: Select all

vim /etc/conf.d/net


there should be a line in there that says:

iface_eth0="192.168.0.2 broadcast 192.168.0.255 netmask 255.255.255.0"

(baring in mind the numbers will almost certainly be different)

put the correct numbers for your network in there, save, and restart networking:

Code: Select all

/etc/init.d/network restart


Cheers,

Gas

lowrida56
Linux User
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 6:40 am

Post by lowrida56 » Fri Aug 13, 2004 7:41 am

were do i find "etc/conf.d/net"
im tryin to do this thrue FlashFXP from a windows pc.. is it possible to edit that file from this computer?

gasranas
Linux User
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 3:47 pm

Post by gasranas » Fri Aug 13, 2004 1:57 pm

DOH

If you dont have a keyboard, then life is going to be more tricky.

If it was me I would:

configure my pc to be on the 192.168.1 network (give it 192.168.1.25 or something)

Start gentoox

then you should be able to ssh to 192.168.1.13

then you can edit the file (like I said in my last post)

change your pc to be back on the 192.168.0 network (or whatever you changed your xbox too) and hopefully it's all done...

Gas

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest