128 RAM

Talk about anything related to Gentoox or Gentoo.

Are you planning to upgrade your RAM?

yes, as soon as I can find someone to do it
9
14%
yes I might, it seems pretty good
17
27%
maybe, depends how much it costs
14
22%
no, I don't really need it
6
9%
no way, its to expensive and not worth it
8
13%
Aready upgraded
10
16%
 
Total votes: 64

CANE
Linux User
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun May 23, 2004 12:37 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Post by CANE » Mon Jun 28, 2004 7:21 am

thank u i read the tutorial in xbox-linux.org

:lol:
l want to be better

jaroc
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 3:54 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Post by jaroc » Fri Aug 06, 2004 4:08 pm

just curious, is it possible to upgrade to 256? 512?

Craxx
Novice
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 9:55 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Post by Craxx » Sat Aug 07, 2004 6:18 pm

no only 128 mb.
With 128mb the xbox works with linux faster as with 64mb.
For games and the most things it makes no difference.

best regards
Craxx;)

Taily
Adept
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 11:46 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Post by Taily » Sat Aug 07, 2004 7:43 pm

jaroc wrote:just curious, is it possible to upgrade to 256? 512?
No! the ram chips are 16mb each, you can't get bigger ones for the xbox

PS. If your not experienced and very good at soldering i DO NOT recomend you try this upgrade, i was able to make sparkled come out of my chips, and now the mobo just frags XD

sord_fish
Linux User
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 7:53 pm
Location: B'pool UK
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Post by sord_fish » Sun Aug 08, 2004 12:55 am

i've just finished upgrading one of my spair boards to 128mb not tested with linux yet but it does help my modded vicecity :lol:

I can install the chips if any one wants but the chips are pricy unfortunatly

i remove mine with a paint stripper from a dead board, not a good idea :roll: but i dont have the cash for a rework station just yet :twisted:
jaroc wrote:just curious, is it possible to upgrade to 256? 512?
i read on x-s about piggy backing the ram, because the 1.6 doesnt have the extra spaces. You would solder the extra ram ontop of an exsisting chip.

very complicated and probably not possible but who noes :shock:

eL_ReMoRa
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 6:48 pm
Location: Madrid-Spain
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Post by eL_ReMoRa » Fri Sep 03, 2004 6:51 pm

but it's true that the original xbox bios crashes after done the ram-mod???

sord_fish
Linux User
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 7:53 pm
Location: B'pool UK
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Post by sord_fish » Sun Sep 12, 2004 2:53 am

nope the xbox works fine with the retail bios. the only way is if it was a bad install of the ram.
128MB Upgrades in the North west UK

bleugh
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2004 9:09 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

memory upgrades

Post by bleugh » Sun Oct 10, 2004 9:14 pm

128 meg ram makes no difference to retail boxes.

if you upgrade correctly, a retail bios will boot as if it wasnt there, the POST in the xbox seems to check ALL memory present, not just the first 64 meg

if you mess the install up, it won't boot!
128 megabyte motherboards sold - £89
memory chips sold - £24 (BRAND NEW)
motherboards upgraded for £49 incl chips
UK based seller

stevenz
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 11:12 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Post by stevenz » Mon Oct 11, 2004 5:16 am

What I don't understand is why anyone would try using GentooX with the GUI (XFree) with only 64Mb. It's virtually unusable. After X loads there's virtually no physical memory left, loading Office took the best part of 2 minutes.

For using as a server of course, it's good as gold if left in terminal mode.

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Mon Oct 11, 2004 8:00 am

Thats not really fair to say... XFCE runs at an acceptable rate, openoffice of course kills it, but stuff like xmms, gaim, xchat... etc run fine.
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

Taily
Adept
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 11:46 am
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Post by Taily » Thu Nov 04, 2004 7:42 pm

ShALLaX wrote:Thats not really fair to say... XFCE runs at an acceptable rate, openoffice of course kills it, but stuff like xmms, gaim, xchat... etc run fine.
Maybe no openoffice but i suppose Abiword coul be added to that list ;)

LifeEscalade
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2005 3:46 pm
Contact:

Post by LifeEscalade » Sat Aug 06, 2005 4:24 pm

i was thinking about upgrading my ram after i read this article but the thing is, i searched for ram chips but couldnt find any... where could i possibly find em? or can i take some off of old ram?

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Sat Aug 06, 2005 5:07 pm

Buy a broken/ old Xbox from eBay... bingo.
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

User avatar
clpalmer
Power user
Posts: 288
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2005 6:38 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Post by clpalmer » Mon Aug 08, 2005 3:12 pm

There's a couple places to get em mentioned earlier in this thread or another. Appleguru from X-S sells em for $30 USD (shipping included) and he's great to deal with. Someone else mentioned another company that sells for $30 but shipping is extra. Or like ShALLaX said, get an old one and remove em, but that's a bunch of extra work and you have to find an old xbox for under $30 to be worth it. Keep in mind also, you have to be a fairly decent solder-er (if that's the term). It's not that easy a task if you haven't soldered much. I ended up having to use the microscope from work (a good magnifying glass probably would have worked, but the microscope is easier =) to find a tiny strand of soldering wick I got stuck behind some pins causing it to not boot.

Post Reply
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests