128 RAM

Talk about anything related to Gentoox or Gentoo.

Are you planning to upgrade your RAM?

yes, as soon as I can find someone to do it
9
14%
yes I might, it seems pretty good
17
27%
maybe, depends how much it costs
14
22%
no, I don't really need it
6
9%
no way, its to expensive and not worth it
8
13%
Aready upgraded
10
16%
 
Total votes: 64

Drunkn_Munky
Novice
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2004 2:45 pm
Location: Norwich
Contact:

128 RAM

Post by Drunkn_Munky » Thu Jun 03, 2004 1:08 pm

Are you planning on upgrading your RAM?

Poll :)

Angel of Dawn
Adept
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 4:25 pm
Contact:

Post by Angel of Dawn » Thu Jun 03, 2004 2:47 pm

I need an option "Allready upgraded"

Drunkn_Munky
Novice
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2004 2:45 pm
Location: Norwich
Contact:

Post by Drunkn_Munky » Thu Jun 03, 2004 5:56 pm

sorry I can't add that now, only mods or admins can add extra options once its started.

Was the upgrade worth it? I think I'll most likely upgrade, but first I need to sort out my screen. It gives me a headache after a while :(

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Fri Jun 04, 2004 12:45 am

The upgrade is definitely worth it.
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

Drunkn_Munky
Novice
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2004 2:45 pm
Location: Norwich
Contact:

Post by Drunkn_Munky » Fri Jun 04, 2004 9:37 am

is it worth £60? cus thats the cheapest I can find someone to do it :cry:

Bucko
Power user
Posts: 229
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 4:14 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by Bucko » Fri Jun 04, 2004 10:16 pm

I want it done also, who is doing yours Drunkn_Munky, can only do mine when I got a job though :twisted:

Drunkn_Munky
Novice
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2004 2:45 pm
Location: Norwich
Contact:

Post by Drunkn_Munky » Sat Jun 05, 2004 9:15 am

i think his name is sumthing like 123456789 on xbox-scene.com forums. But hes charging £70 :cry: I also need a job before I'm gunna spend that much on it

jaroc
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 3:54 am

Post by jaroc » Sun Jun 06, 2004 4:40 pm

does uprgrading make playing games faster?

Drunkn_Munky
Novice
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2004 2:45 pm
Location: Norwich
Contact:

Post by Drunkn_Munky » Sun Jun 06, 2004 7:01 pm

no I don't think it affects it. Its mainly for Linux and emulators

Angel of Dawn
Adept
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 4:25 pm
Contact:

Post by Angel of Dawn » Sun Jun 13, 2004 2:21 pm

My xbox with the 128mb mod just arrived and its w00000000t :)
The performance in Linux increased dramatically
Native installation on my 64mb xbox took about 4 hours, on the 128mb xbox it took less than 30minutes AND i can use kde with good speed

i recommend every linuxuser to make this 128mb mod

and by the way, my last post was 1337 ;)
Image

Chiron
Linux User
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Mar 09, 2004 8:33 pm
Location: Bergen, Norway

64Mb RAM Module Shipping/cost for Norway

Post by Chiron » Thu Jun 17, 2004 8:06 am

Where can I get the upgrade here in Norway_ Or what would it cost me inc. shipping to Norway from dealer?_I really need it, and can handle an iron. are there diff ram for diff boxes_ mine is 1.1

:)
-ChiRon

mlapaglia
Novice
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2003 3:18 am
Location: indiana, usa
Contact:

Post by mlapaglia » Thu Jun 17, 2004 2:47 pm

if u have semi good soldering skills just do it urself like i am doing. buy the chips from someone and do it urself! the worst that can happen is two contacts short and ur xbox FRAG's, just get some solder sucker and pull it up and ur back to normal
-xbox v 1.1
-xecuter 2.3b pro
-xecuter bios build 4981
-160 gig hd
-4 controllers
-LAN
-Halo

linbox
Linux User
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2003 2:18 am

it's worth every penney

Post by linbox » Fri Jun 25, 2004 10:43 pm

I found 4 memory modules about half a year ago and soldered them in myself.

It's the best mod for the xbox that I did. You have to have a pair of steady hands and take your time. I actually had some solder bridges and my xbox first did not boot, but after looking through a microscope I found them and everything is just great with 128 MB of RAM the only way to run kde on the xbox.

I use the xbox for slide viewing over the network and DVD playing and of corse sometimes for playing.

Guenter

CANE
Linux User
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun May 23, 2004 12:37 pm

Post by CANE » Sun Jun 27, 2004 5:52 pm

hi guys i want to know if there is somebody upgrade his xbox with adding 64 ram


i want to kown if there is any tutorials to help in this field...
l want to be better

Taily
Adept
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 11:46 am

Post by Taily » Sun Jun 27, 2004 9:21 pm

Iwe been planning to do this.. and yes there are tutorials
http://www.xbox-scene.com

and then theres even som video tutorials (on i remember on xbox-linux.org's wiki pages)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests