Gentoox Loader Video Problem

Talk about anything related to Gentoox or Gentoo.
Post Reply
slacker
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 5:44 am

Gentoox Loader Video Problem

Post by slacker » Tue Jun 01, 2004 5:49 am

Just booted up for the first time using this, and the output is garbled. The Cromwell (Xromwell, whatever!?) loader worked perfectly. I have a Conexant video encoder (v1.2 box), but I'm thinking the problem is with the HDTV pack. I'm running in standard 480i mode, however I haven't had a chance to test with standard A/V cables. I'm sure it's just a small bug, and since this was just released, not a biggie. I can still boot fine just by hitting enter. :wink:

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Tue Jun 01, 2004 1:49 pm

I dont believe interlaced modes are supported by Xbox linux (and never have been officially). I think you need to use progressive scan. I've tested it with my X2VGA, and it works fine.
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

slacker
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 5:44 am

Post by slacker » Tue Jun 01, 2004 2:59 pm

I have no choice but to run in interlaced mode; I'm using component cables to a standard TV, otherwise I''d gladly run in a progressive mode. The reason I posted (and registered for that reason) is that the previous boot loader ran fine (the one bundled with Home v3.0c).

And to be clearer in the first post (can't tell if I was enough), video output is fine once past the bootloader. Just want to make sure that is clear. :wink:

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Tue Jun 01, 2004 7:30 pm

Thats very odd indeed since the kernel and bootloader use the same source. Have you updated with magic?
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Tue Jun 01, 2004 8:50 pm

I know why the one bundled with home 3.0c worked.... there was no code for hdtv, it just forced the output as standard PAL/NTSC regardless of the AVPACK. I fear that once you upgrade your kernel, nothing will work at all. The problem is... as soon as the driver sees an HDTV AVPACK it shoots straight to 480p.
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

slacker
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 5:44 am

Post by slacker » Fri Jun 04, 2004 2:49 am

That is the case. I updated via magic yesterday, and as predicted, all garbled. Is there anything I can do about this? I went back to the original kernel, and will look around a bit. Maybe you can point me right to the fix though.

astateofblank
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2004 9:25 am
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Post by astateofblank » Fri Jun 25, 2004 7:24 am

I've found out that the problem actually needs to be fixed in the xbv that is equipped in all xbox-linux distros. The only way to fix it would be to add an option to force linux to use an interlaced mode even though an HD pack is found, as some TVs do not support anything better than 480i (such as the Sony FSxxx models).

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Fri Jun 25, 2004 1:09 pm

Or you could just use composite cables for now :\
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

MaDsKiLLz
Linux User
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2004 1:51 am

Post by MaDsKiLLz » Mon Jun 28, 2004 3:07 am

heh i had this problem because i loved using hdtvpack on my tv great video output. but with the latest video drivers composite cables work pretty good. alot better than before. heh i remember when focus came out and the av pack stopped working. it pissed me off so much that i hacked the old drivers together into the new kernel. just a matter of overwriting a few files. hehe probably not that easy anymore :\

your probably just stuck with composite

Pobtastic
Novice
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Jun 13, 2004 10:10 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Pobtastic » Sat Jul 10, 2004 12:17 pm

I'm having this trouble too, using component cables into a standard tv through an AVPACK (and I don't want to have to use composite cables either!!!) How do I go about reinstalling the previous kernel (the one bundled in with home 3.0c) into my current installation. I've got a lot of stuff in it again now and I don't want to lose it all (again!) Admittedly, only through pure linux n00b ignorance!

Thanks :)

Pobster

User avatar
nobspangle
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 1681
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2003 11:59 am
Location: Manchester, UK

Post by nobspangle » Sun Jul 11, 2004 3:43 pm

just extract the files in distro.rar and replace the vmlinuz on your xbox with the one in the rar
If you keep an open mind, will your brain fall out?

IronChefAmerica
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Sep 18, 2004 1:30 am

Post by IronChefAmerica » Sat Sep 18, 2004 1:45 am

I have to agree, I also output using component cables to a regular TV that just supports 480i. The picture is remarkably better with component than SVideo cables. So right now, I need to completely unplug and plug in different cables to use GentooX. I'm a complete newb to Linux (hoping to use this distro to learn new tricks), so I wouldn't begin to know where to contribute this code myself (480i support).

If someone has time, 480i Focus chip support would be greatly appreciated!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest