HDTV Settings, I got my overscan problem fixed.

Talk about anything related to Gentoox or Gentoo.
bdonkey
Linux User
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun May 23, 2004 5:35 pm

Post by bdonkey » Thu Jul 08, 2004 9:19 pm

Umm... all these modes display correctly for HDTV's right? With the widescreen aspect ratios?

But what about a 4:3 HDTV? Any special considerations?

And I don't need to flash my BIOS for HDTV support, right? The original M$ BIOS supports HDTV, I think.

Thanks.

(Yeah, I shouldn't have gotten such a funky HDTV)

lotw
Pro
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 5:59 pm

Once I get

Post by lotw » Sun Jul 18, 2004 7:13 pm

Once I get the setting all figured out how to I get Gentoox to always do that fbset -g command at start up to fix the shell?

User avatar
nobspangle
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 1681
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2003 11:59 am
Location: Manchester, UK

Post by nobspangle » Sun Jul 18, 2004 9:52 pm

stick it in your local.start
If you keep an open mind, will your brain fall out?

Tyr
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 2:13 am

Post by Tyr » Sat Aug 07, 2004 6:06 pm

Hmm actually if you add the fbset -g ... line in the local.start it doesn't fix the video until right at the end of bootup. Is there a way to fix the video from the beginning of bootup? Meaning where could you put the fbset ... command for RC 0 instead of RC 1 (Gentoox)?

By the way thanks all for posting, this thread has been really helpful!

-=Tyr

User avatar
nobspangle
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 1681
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2003 11:59 am
Location: Manchester, UK

Post by nobspangle » Sun Aug 08, 2004 9:20 am

you could write an rc script put it in /etc/init.d and add it to the boot runlevel I think that would do it.
If you keep an open mind, will your brain fall out?

Konni
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 7:40 pm

Post by Konni » Tue Oct 05, 2004 6:38 am

Thanks to this thread i've been able to have a "normal" looking 720p on my Epson EMP-TW10 projector (also called Epson Home10 in us)

here's the modeline from XF86Config:

74.166 1152 1291 1323 1648 648 689 694 750 +hsync +vsync

I'm a big linux noob so I don't know how to "translate" this for the fbset command... All i know is that after editing the modeline in XF86Config and rebooting my gentoox there where no more overscan.

Thx ppl!

waff
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2004 11:47 am

Post by waff » Wed Nov 03, 2004 7:13 am

After spending hours trying to get the calculations for my display to be correct at 720p I had about given up when i decided to just copy the modeline from the previous post. Amazingly, it worked!!!! I still would like to know how to calculate this properly but im happy now. No more overscan on a Hitachi 51" hdtv

msnyder
Adept
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 7:47 pm
Location: Tyler, Texas

Post by msnyder » Mon Nov 29, 2004 10:30 pm

I'll try that when I get home...

IceBerg
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 2:27 pm

Post by IceBerg » Thu Dec 09, 2004 2:33 pm

I have a sony Wega 32XBR400. I have it working with the 4:3 480p just fine. However this TV has what is called enhanced 16:9. It seems to work fine with XBMC and DVDs. The TV supports both 1080i and 480p.

I would like to find some working setting so that if I play a DIVX or something I can switch to 1080i otherwise I can stay in 480p. I have tinkered around a little bit but havnet been able to find any settings. With simple math I though I should just initialy try

fbset 1920 1080 1920 1080 32

needless to say that didnt work, or even come close. This line does however work:

fbset -g 640 480 640 480 32

Any suggestions are greatly appriciated.

Catalyst
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2004 4:17 pm

Post by Catalyst » Mon Dec 20, 2004 4:19 pm

Will this also work on a 1.6B Xcalibur Video Encoder? I've been fforced to use the shitty RCA cables :cry:

I'll try this ASAP, I hope it works...

Thanks in advance!

BTW - I have a Samsung 50" DLP :D

Catalyst
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2004 4:17 pm

Post by Catalyst » Tue Dec 21, 2004 3:20 am

Anyone? Or is it the truth - the Xcalibur doesn't support HDTV in GentooX yet :cry:

I'll still try :D

When I hook up the HD Cables and go to Linux, the screen garbles up, the diagonal lines move up the screen, and the screen is an orange tint. Not good? :idea:

ruph
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 9:20 am

Post by ruph » Sun Jan 23, 2005 6:53 pm

stupid questions, can someone show me how to edit and save changes of XF86Config-4 using putty? i managed to open it and edit it but i'm just not too sure on saving the changes. I see the commands on the bottom but cant seem to execute them. Could any1 give me a hand please?

Can Gentoox work on 1080i yet?

vplayer
1337
Posts: 442
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 11:06 pm
Location: USA

Post by vplayer » Sun Jan 23, 2005 10:22 pm

Ctrl+X , Y , Enter


hope that helps...
Box: XBOX ver 1.1
Mod: Xecutor 2.3 lite+
Hdd: WD 80GB
Dash: Evox, Ava, XBMC
Linux: Gentoox Pro 4.2

tawong
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 5:22 pm

Post by tawong » Thu Jan 27, 2005 7:03 pm

Konni wrote:Thanks to this thread i've been able to have a "normal" looking 720p on my Epson EMP-TW10 projector (also called Epson Home10 in us)

here's the modeline from XF86Config:

74.166 1152 1291 1323 1648 648 689 694 750 +hsync +vsync

I'm a big linux noob so I don't know how to "translate" this for the fbset command... All i know is that after editing the modeline in XF86Config and rebooting my gentoox there where no more overscan.

Thx ppl!
Sorry, this is a tool noob question. What is XF86 Config? Is it a file I can edit or I need to enter this command at the console? I too have 32" LCD HDTV and overscanning is pain in the butt.

Smidley
Linux User
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2005 4:03 am

Post by Smidley » Fri Feb 25, 2005 10:46 pm

I am also looking for that file.

Does anyone know the exact command syntax?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests