Unable to create swap partition

Talk about anything related to Gentoox MCE.
Post Reply
yoink00
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 12:33 am
Location: Brooklyn

Unable to create swap partition

Post by yoink00 » Fri Oct 08, 2004 2:47 am

Hi,

I've been trying to install GentooX MCE...

I'm attempting to install it on a Friendtech DreamX-733 with a 120GB HDD...

When I booted up the box the initial screen was messed up I hit 'A' anyway and the installation continued... It got to the point where I needed to insert the GentooX disk or reinsert the MCE disk... when it rebooted it wouldn't recognise the disk so I rebooted again... it then skipped the initial blue screen (I couldn't see what was on it) and goes straight to try and install.

When the Linux boot stuff flashes past it complains of some disk error (it goes past way too quickly to see what's going on)... It thens tries to format the disk at which point it complains it's "Unable to create swap partition".

What the heck am I doing wrong?

Stu

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Sat Oct 09, 2004 7:25 pm

Hmm, that sounds rather odd. What BIOS are you booting from? Do you know what version of Xbox it is?
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

yoink00
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 12:33 am
Location: Brooklyn

Post by yoink00 » Sat Oct 09, 2004 8:30 pm

The BIOS was whatever was on the DreamX when I received it...

It's a v1.6 XBox...

I've been investigating the problem and it seems that it's having some problem with my HDD, but the normal XBox dashboard has no such problem... I'm currently attempting to disable DMA and see if that helps...

If you've got a better idea let me know :-)

Stu

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Sat Oct 09, 2004 11:59 pm

1.6... that would be why ;)

MCE is not v1.6 compliant at all, and it wont be until I get Gentoox running properly on v1.6s (i.e. overscan correction etc)... which may be never since MS arent going to hand us the specs for the encoder any time soon... heh.
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

yoink00
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 12:33 am
Location: Brooklyn

Post by yoink00 » Sun Oct 10, 2004 3:31 am

Oh... Is there an easy way to reverse out of what I've done? It seems to only want to read from the MCE disk.

Thank,

Stu

User avatar
nobspangle
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 1681
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2003 11:59 am
Location: Manchester, UK

Post by nobspangle » Sun Oct 10, 2004 7:59 am

if you boot the MCE disc you should be able to hit ctrl+C on your keyboard to kill the install and then reflash your bios with raincoat. Then you just need to format your F drive and you'll be back to how you were. Instructions for raincoat are in a tutorial on the main Gentoox site.

Or failing that I see Shallax has a new rescue CD, that includes a reflashing tool, out.
If you keep an open mind, will your brain fall out?

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Sun Oct 10, 2004 9:27 am

You can now use Resctoox.
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

jcouzens
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2004 3:09 pm
Location: Vancouver
Contact:

Post by jcouzens » Mon Oct 18, 2004 3:13 pm

This happens to me and I am using two separate x-box 1.0 versions with 6GB and 10GB drives respectively. The 8GB one gives me the swap error. The 10GB one gives me an "unable to create root partition" error. I popped in a 20GB drive and then the installer worked fine. So it looks like the MCE installer is reliant upon a large enough disk drive to have an F:\ drive appear or something along those lines. Tried this on both of my xboxes and they installe fine as long as the drive is at least 20GB (I had nothing smaller other than the stock drives).

8GB xbox is using SmartXX with Gentoox Loader 4.6 bios loaded before lauching MCE installer.

10GB xbox is using latest Cromwell before launching MCE installer.

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Mon Oct 18, 2004 3:15 pm

Nice work, Sherlock... but did you try reading the manual where it says "YOU MUST HAVE AT LEAST A 20GB HARD DRIVE".....

;)
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest