First impressions and X2VGA not working?

Talk about anything related to Gentoox MCE.
Post Reply
indigocc
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 2:49 pm

First impressions and X2VGA not working?

Post by indigocc » Thu Aug 19, 2004 3:06 pm

I just bought a spare Xbox to screw around with.

First project was to mess around with Freindtech MCE. :-)

I have a X2VGA adapter attached to a 42 inch 16:9 plasma screen.
PAL V1.1 xbox, locked to NTSC, with Aladdin chip and a 120 gb seagate harddisk.

Installation vent smooth, except I had to flash the bios manually.

(And ofcource i screwed up with the video configuration. Not the most userfriendly app ever seen. :-))

Reinstalled with my USB keyboard attached to the Xbox.
Selected X2VGA 720P 1280X720 resolution.

First test. DVD movie:
Configured the DVD player to Enable AC3 sound.
Started the movie.
Screen flashes....
Blue screen in 4:3 format in the middle of the screen, but the sound plays.
Ultra-bummer....

Second test. Xvid movie:
FTP's a movie over.
Screws around with my USB keyboard until I finally figures out how to start the movie.
Blank screen. Flashing screen...
Back to the "select movie" screen.
Bam... "White please wait screen".
0.123421 seconds of sound....
Back to select movie screen.
Ultra-mega bummer.

Ok... Lets try not to be so optimistic....
Reinstalled.
Selected X2VGA 480P and lower resolution.

Same crap....

Ok. Maybe its the movie?

SSH'ed to the xbox.
Emerge MC (Cant live without Midnight commander)
Used smbmount to mount my pc's shared movie directory to /mnt/media/videos/test

Same crap. Not even a 1 mb pr0n clip worked.

All in all.....

Lousy experience....

Any ideas? (Except going back to SCART connection)

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Fri Aug 20, 2004 3:42 am

Thats very odd.. My X2VGA works fine.. and I have a video of it working.
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

indigocc
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 2:49 pm

Post by indigocc » Fri Aug 20, 2004 8:56 am

ShALLaX wrote:Thats very odd.. My X2VGA works fine.. and I have a video of it working.


Very strange...

Ive got the new verision thats compatible with Xbox 1.6 and have both VGA in and VGA out.

Is yours the same?

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Fri Aug 20, 2004 9:26 am

No :/
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

indigocc
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 2:49 pm

Post by indigocc » Fri Aug 20, 2004 2:42 pm

ShALLaX wrote:No :/


Ah.... I have the older model of X2VGA, but with a defect optical out. (Thats why i bought the new one)
Ill try that out and see what happends. :-)

Anastrophe
Novice
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 3:41 am

Post by Anastrophe » Sat Aug 21, 2004 9:22 am

any luck with the old one?

indigocc
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2004 2:49 pm

No good

Post by indigocc » Sat Aug 21, 2004 3:31 pm

I havent had the time to test a DVD movie, but the "avi player" have the
same problem....

It still seems like it never really starts.
Just some screen flashing and then the "plase wait" screen and
finally back to the select video screen.

Is there any logfile I can check?

themikesssta
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 4:51 am

Post by themikesssta » Wed Jan 12, 2005 7:40 am

i'm fairly sure the x2vga does not support dvd playback, check their website

User avatar
nobspangle
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 1681
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2003 11:59 am
Location: Manchester, UK

Post by nobspangle » Fri Jan 14, 2005 11:10 am

It only doesn't support the microsoft DVD player as that plays back in interlaced mode, the X2VGA requires progressive output.
If you keep an open mind, will your brain fall out?

crow
Novice
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2005 10:35 am
Contact:

Post by crow » Sat Feb 05, 2005 7:25 pm

Is x2vga+ working with Gentoox MCE 1.1 i am planing to buy one but need info is it fully working with MCE(if there is user that use it)
I have Xbox rev 1.4 (focus), Smartxx v2
thnx

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Sun Feb 06, 2005 2:18 am

I _believe_ it works, but I dont have one.
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

iccaros
Adept
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2005 6:09 am
Location: Wash DC
Contact:

Post by iccaros » Mon Feb 28, 2005 12:57 am

mine works great.. when you did mplayer you did do -vo x11 right?
and your move was riped to do those resolutions. I use dvdrip and some movies willnot play at 780p but will 480p even with my players on my main machine.
Want to try one more live cd..
http://www.Iccaros-Linux.org

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest